COVID-19 Restrictions – Malta (LMML)

Last modified on 26th November 2021
NOTICE: Travel requirements vary by country and may change at short notice.

Important Notice: Travel to and from regions/countries with known cases of the new Covid-19 variant B.1.1.529 to Malta will be temporarily banned as from Sunday 28th November 2021 at 00:01 am. At the moment this includes South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini and Zimbabwe.​

All passengers are required to present a completed Public Health Travel Declaration and Passenger Locator Form link (PLF). As from the 16th of August 2021, passengers will only be allowed to submit their passenger locator form (PLF) via the online EU-dPLF platform which can be accessed at  They can then present the submitted PLF with the QR code at check in and on arrival in Malta in digital format or as a print-out. Paper copies of the passenger locator form will no longer be distributed and will not be accepted at check-in or on arrival in Malta.

All passengers are required to present valid vaccination certificate recognised by the Superintendent of Public Health (age 12+), which at present are the following:

  • The Official Maltese vaccination certificate 
  • The EU Digital COVID vaccination certificate, issued by EU, EEA and non-EU countries connected to the EUDCC  gateway. The EU Digital COVID vaccination certificate now includes certificates from Albania, Andorra, Faroe Islands, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Morocco, North Macedonia, Norway, Panama, San Marino, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and Vatican City.
  • The Albanian Digital Covid Certificate
  • The Arab Republic of Egypt COVID-19 vaccine certificate
  • The Armenian “COVID-19 Vaccination Certificate” issued through the United Information System of Electronic Healthcare in the Republic of Armenia
  • The Australian COVID-19 Digital Certificate as verified through Medicare Express Plus App.
  • The Republic of Azerbaijan Vaccination card
  • The Kingdom of Bahrain Coronavirus (COVID-19) Vaccination Certificate
  • The Government of Bermuda Ministry of Health COVID-19 Vaccination Certificate
  • The Canadian COVID-19 Provincial Immunisation Records, as verified by Verifly app
  • The Official Chile’s Digital Vaccination Certificate
  • The MiVacuna COVID-19 Vaccination Certificate – Colombia
  • The Iraq “COVID-19 Vaccination Card issued by Kurdistan Regional Government – Iraq
  • The Gibraltar, Jersey and Guernsey  vaccination certificate
  • The Japanese – Vaccination Certificate of COVID-19 (verified using VeriFLY)
  • The Republic of Kosovo Ministry of Health Vaccination Card for COVID-19
  • The State of Kuwait Ministry of Health SARS-COV-2 Vaccination Certificate
  • The Lebanese COVID-19 vaccination record card 
  • The Libyan – National Center for Disease Control – Libya State of Libya COVID-19 Vaccination Certificate 
  • The Malaysian -Covid 19 Digital certificate verified through MySehatara App
  • The Moldovian  “Vaccination Certificate” as issued by Moldova Ministry of Health
  • The Sultanate of Oman Immunisation Certificate for COVID-19
  • The Palestinian Ministry of Health Vaccination Certificate
  • The Covid 19 vaccination certificate issued by the Ministry of Public Health, Doha, Qatar
  • The Republic of Rwanda – covid19 vaccination certificate issued by Rwanda Biomedical centre (only on presentation of mobile phone number and respective code)
  • The Saudi Arabia vaccine certificate issued by
  • The Serbian “Digital Green Certificate” with a readable QR Code
  • The Ministry of Health, Singapore Vaccination Certificate
  • The South Korean  “COVID-19 Vaccine Certificate-” as issued through the COOV App
  • The Turkish Vaccine certificate of full course of vaccination
  • The UAE Al Hosn vaccine certificate
  • The UAE Vaccine certificate issued by the Dubai Health Authorities with a readable QR Code
  • The United Kingdom NHS (paper or digital) Coronavirus (COVID-19) Vaccination Certificate
  • The United States CDC COVID-19 Vaccination Record Card verified through the VeriFLY app. The VeriFLY app is available on both Google Play ( and Apple App Store (  Go to​ for Verifly FAQs.​


The following certificates are NOT VALID for travel to Malta:

  • EU Digital COVID Recovery Certificates
  • EU Digital COVID Vaccination Certificate showing one dose unless for a single dose vaccine. **
  • COVID Vaccine Certificates with less than 14 days from the final dose
  • COVID Vaccine Certificates not on the accepted list
  • Negative Rapid Antigen Test, whether on EU Digital COVID Certificate or otherwise

** As of the 1st October 2021, the Maltese authorities will be accepting recognised  vaccine certificates showing recovery from COVID in the previous six months plus one dose of an EMA approved vaccine, as per the vaccination policy of the issuing country, administered at least 14 days prior to arrival in Malta.

Passengers in possession of an EU DCC  vaccine certificate showing 1 dose of either Pfizer, Astrazeneca or Moderna and which is clearly marked as 1/1 rather than 1/2 (which shows incomplete vaccination), then that certificate is accepted for entry since this is in line with the specific country recommendation.

Persons coming from “red” listed countries who do not have one of the above will need to present a PCR test done not more than 72 hours before the journey and shall undergo mandatory quarantine at their own expense. Further details are found here: